Every Princess Needs Her Prince

Good Afternoon!  Rosie here!

So Gracie and I have been MIA the last week and a half because I returned to work.  The days are 12 hours long between work and commuting so I don’t get to play on the computer much.  I spend as much time with Gracie as possible and she has a dog walker who comes by everyday to take her for a walk but I feel so bad leaving her for long hours!

Obviously the solution to this problem is to add another puppy to the mix!  Yes, I decided to get a playmate for Gracie.  I was going to wait until I was done this job but hey, she needs a playmate now! Plus, with the storm coming up the east coast it looks like I’ll have Monday and possibly Tuesday off.  I work outside.

So without further ado, let me introduce to you, Prince Henri of the House of Grimaldi.

Image

Yes, the proper name is Prince Rainier Louis Henri Maxence Bertrand, but it wouldn’t fit on a name tag so Henri it is.

He is a Shih Tzu terrier mix, 9 months old and as you can see, all black.  What you can’t see is a little white goatee on his chin and a thin strip of white on his chest.  He is such a cutie!  He was rescued from a kill shelter in Georgia and he is so happy to have a furever home!

Gracie got to meet him before we brought him home and they got along wonderfully!  They’ve been playing constantly and it just makes me laugh.  The first thing we did was get him a bath though, he smelled horrible.

Image

Right now they are both at the groomers, Henri getting his hair cut and washed (he still had that kennel smell on him) and Gracie just getting a bath and nails clipped.

The two of them took to each other immediately, here they are hugging it out…

Image

I tried to take more pictures but they move so fast nothing is really clear!

I’ve never taken care of two dogs at once, curious to know what others do about eating sleeping and walking arrangements.  Henri eats very very fast and is actually shaking as he does.  I’m sure eventually he will slow down, I bought him a bowl that is suppose to help with fast eaters.  Plus he tried to eat Gracie’s so I had to put him in the pen so she could eat her food in peace.  A good friend, who came with me to pick out Henri, is coming over with a coupler for the leash so they can walk together.  I was getting dizzy yesterday with them spinning me around.  I wasn’t sure what to do about sleeping arrangements since Gracie sleeps in her own crate with a big pink pillow.  But it is large enough for two so I put them together and not a peep out of them.  I woke in the middle of the night and looked over, I could see Gracie laying along the front of the cage like she usually does but couldn’t see Henri because he’s so dark.  There was no crying or fighting so I went back to sleep and when I woke this morning this is what greeted me…

Image

So I’m happy that Gracie isn’t alone all day, Gracie is happy to have someone to play with and Henri is happy to have a furever home!  It’s win/win all around!

Going to check up on all my 4-legged friends now and see what I’ve missed.  Is Sampson feeling better yet?  Has Toby been eaten by zombies yet?  These are things inquiring minds want to know 🙂

This is a Saturday Pet Blogger Hop!

Hop on at Life With Dogs or Two Little Cavaliers or Nip and Bones!

6 thoughts on “Every Princess Needs Her Prince

    • Yes, I am out of my mind. But I couldn’t resist! I felt so bad for leaving Gracie by herself for so long I wanted to get her a companion. And let me tell you, it was a good idea. They play and play all day and jump around and tire themselves out!
      They love each other already!

Leave a Reply

